Speaker selection - Help

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by bca8556, Feb 5, 2014.

1. bca8556

bca8556

Hello, I am new to Talk Bass and joined primarily to ask a question...

I recently had issues with my Eden Nemesis 212 320watt combo and brought it to a tech. He told me that the speakers were worn and I should look to replace them. I want to get something really good without absolutely destroying my budget.

Im looking for punch, thump, and something clean. (Gospel, mixed modern, funk, and slapping) I have a 12channel Eq and I like my technique so Im bassing the rest on the speaker.

The tech recommended Peavey Black Widow 12" 8 ohm 200watt ea. He is also a Peavey dealer and Im a skeptic.

>What are my best options for upgrading my speakers
    (Eminence, Celestrion, GK, Peavey) - Can I put JBLs or EVs in a bass Combo?

Where can I find unbiased reviews online

I have read through countless threads/posts and cant find what Im looking for so please help. Most of what I searched just beat around the bush.

2. B-string

B-string Gold Supporting Member

Well no beating around the bush, the combo's cabinet interior size and porting (if any) has to meet the requirements of the replacement speaker. G-K builds their own speakers and does not publish T/S specs so no way to tell if the combo's box and port tuning will match up.
    You may be able to match (possibly re-port) for others mentioned. Black Widows are decent speakers but I don't know personally if they will get along in that combo's cab.
    Any speaker without going through the matching process can be a drop and go or a drop and blow.

3. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

It's not difficult to measure your box and porting. Eminence publish pdf docs for all their bass drivers. You can compare your box to theirs. Many TB members have rule of thumb tunings for many different drivers, but your combo isn't well known. You will get some help if you measure it. Port tubes are much easier to mod than shelf ports.