Specific preamp needs, can't find one that seems to fit.

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jady, Nov 30, 2013.


  1. jady

    jady

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    Modesto, CA
    So I want this configuration,

    2 coil taps
    active passive switch
    passive tone control would be nice but not a deal breaker
    bass and treble (I have had mid controls but never touch them)


    A kill switch would be nice but if I switch to passive it would do the same thing right?

    I like the Aguilar sound but am not adverse to other brands (except Audere, I have one in my Jazz bass and am looking for a different sound)

    Any thoughts?
  2. rojo412

    rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH.
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor, ACF Custom
    If you wire up all of the passive controls (coil option switches, bypass, passive tone, etc), then run them into a preamp, you can use almost any preamp available.
  3. sotua

    sotua

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chile
    Bassmods have preamps with passive tone and active/passive switches. You can wire the coil taps yourself with mini switches and feed that into the preamp.

    (In fact, I'm going exactly that way. I bought a 3 band active/passive with passive tone preamp from bassmods and will wire a.coil selector for my dual MM bass.)
  4. Nightvision

    Nightvision

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    South of France
    I know.
    Glockenklang 2 band with tone control in passive mode.
    I have this preamp on my P Deluxe US and i prefer it over the Sadowsky preamp with VTC.
    It lets the real sound of your bass, very transparent.
  5. mmbongo

    mmbongo I like turtles. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate, South Carolina
    Pretty much any preamp would work, as the coil tap switches are part of your pickups and not the preamp.
  6. jady

    jady

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    Modesto, CA
    Gotcha, looks like a OBP-2 would work :)
  7. Steveman

    Steveman

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    The Flexcore is great, that's what I use on my Fodera-ish Warmoth. Not sure if there's a two coil tap option, but if you a contact Mike Pope, he can probably make it happen, I'm pretty sure they've done it for Fodera before.
  8. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    You can do that with any 2-band preamp with non pcb-mount pots.
  9. grendle

    grendle Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Location:
    Central FL
    Any 2 band, and a lotta holes for the other knobs n switch.

Share This Page