1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Specific preamp needs, can't find one that seems to fit.

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jady, Nov 30, 2013.


  1. jady

    jady

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    Modesto, CA
    So I want this configuration,

    2 coil taps
    active passive switch
    passive tone control would be nice but not a deal breaker
    bass and treble (I have had mid controls but never touch them)


    A kill switch would be nice but if I switch to passive it would do the same thing right?

    I like the Aguilar sound but am not adverse to other brands (except Audere, I have one in my Jazz bass and am looking for a different sound)

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. rojo412

    rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH.
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor, ACF Custom
    If you wire up all of the passive controls (coil option switches, bypass, passive tone, etc), then run them into a preamp, you can use almost any preamp available.
     
  3. sotua

    sotua

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chile
    Bassmods have preamps with passive tone and active/passive switches. You can wire the coil taps yourself with mini switches and feed that into the preamp.

    (In fact, I'm going exactly that way. I bought a 3 band active/passive with passive tone preamp from bassmods and will wire a.coil selector for my dual MM bass.)
     
  4. Nightvision

    Nightvision

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    South of France
    I know.
    Glockenklang 2 band with tone control in passive mode.
    I have this preamp on my P Deluxe US and i prefer it over the Sadowsky preamp with VTC.
    It lets the real sound of your bass, very transparent.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. mmbongo

    mmbongo Chicken Pot Pie. My three favorite things!! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate, South Carolina
    Pretty much any preamp would work, as the coil tap switches are part of your pickups and not the preamp.
     
  7. jady

    jady

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Location:
    Modesto, CA
    Gotcha, looks like a OBP-2 would work :)
     
  8. Steveman

    Steveman

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    The Flexcore is great, that's what I use on my Fodera-ish Warmoth. Not sure if there's a two coil tap option, but if you a contact Mike Pope, he can probably make it happen, I'm pretty sure they've done it for Fodera before.
     
  9. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    You can do that with any 2-band preamp with non pcb-mount pots.
     
  10. grendle

    grendle

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Location:
    Central FL
    Any 2 band, and a lotta holes for the other knobs n switch.
     

Share This Page