1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Squier Precision re-build

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by DogOn2Legs, Mar 20, 2014.

1. DogOn2Legs

DogOn2Legs

I have acquired a Squire P bass for next to nothing and have completely striped it down to bare wood.
    I have a "BadassII" bridge (courtesy of a buddy} but looking for input for the rest of the hardware and electronics.
    I'm leaning towards Duncan Quarter Pound pups, GraphTech nut and Spurzel machines.
    Any thoughts, personal experiences will be appreciated.
    I know, I'll never get my money out of it.....don't care.....I want to learn to build a guitar.
    I'm a carpenter and my goal is to learn enough to build a bass out of one piece of wood
    I've been out of music for 25-30 years but now I have the time and a little money to spare.....what better use of both!

2. audioglenn

audioglenn Gold Supporting Member

Well, a Squier P and a Badass II bridge are a great start. I've got a good number of Squier P and J basses that I've modded and have had great success with all of them All of the additional parts you listed are good choices. If you want the classic Fender P sound, go with a Duncan SPB 1 pickup. If you want a more aggressive sound, go with the Duncan SPB 3. Both of them sound great! I've never used the Sperzel machine heads, so I can't comment on them. You should use either CTS or Bourns pots, Orange Drop capacitor and a Switchcraft output jack for the electronics. Be sure to connect a ground wire from the bottom of the bridge to the back of one of the pots. Otherwise, it will hum like crazy. Are you planning on painting the body? If you are, be sure you do the proper prep work. There are loads of threads on this site concerning painting a bass.