Squier VM Jag bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Natman, Jan 13, 2014.

1. Natman

Natman

Hey guys,

Newbie here with a VM Jaguar looking to upgrade pickups. I have had lots of experience swapping pickups in guitars over the years but this is my first bass. I generally find high(er) end pickups are well worth the investment. While the stock Duncan Designed are ok (especially the P which is not half bad) I'm sure I can do better.

First off, I HATE the J hum. Somehow the 60 Hz background seems more acceptable in a guitar. I like the J tone but I'm not a purist, so what's out there?

I already bought a Sentell Jazz Blade off ebay, mainly because it looks cool. It has an alnico 3 bar magnet, but it still a single coil. Tone is fine (better than the stock ceramic DD), but output is too low for the hot P in the neck. Which brings me to my second point:

Is there a good P/J set with a silent J with balanced output?

I (briefly) considered Alumitones because I think chrome would look boss and they're totally silent, but reviews are mixed and they're getting hard to find, not to mention pricey.

This is a low end bass obviously and my chops are nothing to write home about yet, but I love modding and I hear the improvements even if no one else does. What do you recommend? I'm not ready to drop big money on Fralins for example. The pickups would equal what I paid for the bass!

2. Cadfael

Cadfael

Mearsure the J Pu!!!
    Squier sometimes uses neck sized Js for the bridge position!
    You find the inch measurements of neck and bridge on the SD website and other sites.
    Check your J PU! Does it have neck or bridge size?

Well ...
    The DiMarzio PJ set has been a classic set for nearly 40 years ...
    Maybe you need to take the P plus a neck J to fit your Squier bass ...

3. h2otorched

h2otorched

I installed EMG's P/J set into a 78 MusicMan Sabre Bass, and I loved the sound.