1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Squier VM Jaguar vs Squier VM Jaguar Special

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ramonovski, Jan 6, 2013.

1. ramonovski

ramonovski

Hi talkbass, after lurking in this forum for a few weeks it's time to post.

I'm an experienced drummer and a solid guitarrist looking for a cheap bass just for home recordings and rehearsals with my girlfriend, so, nothing "serious" at the moment.

I've read a lot of nice things about this new line of squier basses so I think I'm going for one of these, but then I've noticed that there's two of them (well, actualy like 4 if you take the SS and the HB), the VM Jaguar and the VM Jaguar special.

So, I want to know what's the main difference between these 2 besides the body material and of course, the price. I'm looking for sound differences and playability, and I'm asking this in a forum since I can't test the basses personally.

Are the Duncan pickups worth the $100 difference?

I could get a used MIM for ~$250 but some of the reviews/posts I've read say that these VM basses are in the "same level", and I'm not a fender-headstock-freak; I listen with my ears not with my eyes.

tl;dr what's the difference between Squier VM Jaguar and Squier VM Jaguar Special basses?

Thanks in advance.

2. TheAnalogKid

TheAnalogKid Yer Doin' GREAT!!!! Supporting Member

http://www.fender.com/basses/jaguar/

IMO, the Jaguar (with its concentric knobs instead of individual VVT w/boost configuration) is just more decked out than the Jag Special. I consider that a bit ironic; you'd figure a more expensive model would be "special". Overall, these are quite nice, IMO. I'd go with the Special, it's 200 bucks and sounds/feels great. If blocked inlays, Duncan-designed pups, and concentric knobs are your thing, go with the other.