Stanley Clarke

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by Swing Doom, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Swing Doom

Swing Doom

So, what do you guys think of Stanley Clarke?

Personally, I like his music, I hate his sound. He doesn't get an acoustic sound out of the amp and he sounds like he's playing a big fretless electric bass to me.
  2. ksandvik

ksandvik

I think the best way to enjoy Stanley Clarke is to see him play live. If possible within 5 feet distance.
  3. Cornel

Cornel

Stanley who?
    SC is a "Grandmaster of Bass" and the reason why i started playing. Way back...Lopsy Lu.
    I love his music and his sound. Great artist. Thanks Stanley!
  4. Swing Doom

Swing Doom

I like his EB sound! I just hate that he lets his amp change his upright bass sound. He doesn't sound that way at all on recordings.
  5. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

I love him been a fan since the 70's he can play anything and make it sound incredible. I think it's difficult for a number of artists to exactly duplicate their studio sound on the road if you sit back and watch what the man can do on an instrument what his amp or tone sounds like becomes irrelevant.
  6. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

I'm not a DB player. That said, one of my all time favorite albums is Rite Of Strings, which has Stanley on DB, Jean-Luc Ponty on acoustic violin, and Al DiMeola, who uses what sounds like a MIDI-equipped acoustic guitar. I dig Stanley on electric, but this album is the one I always come back to.
  7. Swing Doom

Swing Doom

I disagree, I know plenty of professionals who sound the same whether they use an amp or not. The only difference is their volume.