Stanley Clarke's vibrato

Discussion in 'Ask the Berklee Bass Department' started by lovethegrowl, Dec 18, 2013.

1. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl

I went to Berklee (mid 70s). Trumpet was my first instrument but I loved bass guitar. Once I asked Steve Swallow for private lessons & he explained, "bass performance majors only". (Wish I changed the major, & he had short jet black hair & a beard--has it been that long?)

Anyway, I remember seeing Chick Correa perform at Symphony Hall (Dec. '74 or Jan.'75) & Stanley Clarke had his new Alembic bass. I was blown away! My question is a bit banal & I apologize. But how could one accomplish that. Sheer strength? How did he do it?
  2. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl

I'm sorry, I meant how did Stanley Clarke accomplish such a wide, fast, ferocious, guitar like vibrato with such big strings?
  3. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl

P. S.
    Say hi to Charlie Lewis, I studied with him 78-80.
  4. Steve Bailey

Steve Bailey Supporting Member

big hands.. Stanley plays vibrato a couple of ways, the traditional upright technique, and the "BB KING". I would suggest that you YouTube some stanley and see for yourself. I picture is worth a thousand words in this case.,
  5. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Ya, giant hands + a tiny bass with light strings + a strong background in playing upright.
  6. Clef_de_fa

Clef_de_fa

Didn't he have at least one bass with a tremolo bridge ( which is more of a vibratro than a tremolo ) ?
  7. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    The only one I ever saw with a vibrato was the one on the cover of "I Wanna Play For You." It had a Bigsby on it. I think he used it on one song on that album and I never saw it again.
  8. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl