Starsun PGB100 VS Yama RBX170 - 2nd Hand Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Cuniliguns, Nov 14, 2012.

1. Cuniliguns

Cuniliguns

Hello guys,

Since this is my first post, let me introduce myself, if you don't, just jump to TOPIC. I'm a student who about 2 years ago found out he likes to play the bass. It all started when a friend (Italian trompet player) of mine asked me " what's your favorite instrument ?". I've always been into music but never thought of discoreving this side of mine. Afterwards i've bought an semi-acoustic bass, a Jack and Danny ABG-1C.

I've been pretty happy with it, the product quality if very very good for the price (160€). I usually play at home and just recently joined a band. They like the sound of it (plugged in (Stagg 20 Amps) sounds as much as an electric bass) and since the two guitar players are also semi-acoustic, they love the looks.

TOPIC - Since this crisis affects us all, the lives of 2 friends of mine got them to sell their basses. I still have no feedback about the prices but that's not what i expect from your, precious, knowledge.

One of the basses, i think everyone knows it, it's the Yamaha RBX 170
    The other one is a Starsun PGB100

Both are black, have the same scale lenght and other specifications (agathis body i think), from my (noob) point of view the main difference are the pickups, the yama has passive and the starsun has active. I don't think that makes a big difference (prove me wrong :) ) Both are in good conditions, i would say the starsun (girl player) is in better condition but the other one is also in good shape.

What would i expect from your answers, a comparison between them in term of hardware and if possible, feedback from users who had one or the other.
    I'll probably take the 2 basses and sound test them side by side, however your knoledge of the hardware would be extremely valuable.

Thank you very much for your time and answers !

Cuni !

2. bill reed

bill reed