1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Start New Job On Monday

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by XXL, Feb 2, 2014.

1. XXL

XXL Custom User Title Supporting Member

Well I'm starting a new job/career on Monday doing pre-wiring for security systems for commercial buildings. I have no experience in this but was told I will be trained. I got a list of tools and safety items to get which I have.. Ive tried looking up some guides and things to get a bit of a headstart on the lingo and equipment to use, but all I can find are books to buy or for DIY home installing. Can anyone with experience and or knowledge in this field help me out with some guides, hints, links, anything. Id just like to be on top of everything come Monday morning.

2. Gazman

Gazman

Hi,
    I used to do security system installations, but things will be different in your area.

I assume there will be someone who will show you the ropes, listen to what they say and ask if you are unsure. Nothing worse than having to undo hours of work and start over because you were afraid to ask.

Make certain the cables are marked at each end, and not just at the very end, but a foot or so from the end in case they get cut off.

Work around the other trades and respect their work.

Be careful working on ladders, and take care of your hands!

Good luck

3. i_got_a_mohawk

i_got_a_mohawk

Can't help you with any specifics, but good luck!

4. kanonfodr

kanonfodr Supporting Member

Congratulations! The security field is actually pretty good to get into as it is licensed and regulated in most states. I worked closely with Security Alarm companies a few times while I was doing voice and data networking in Texas.