1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Starter Bass for former guitar player

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by abcrosemarie, Dec 14, 2013.

1. abcrosemarie

abcrosemarie

I have no doubt this is a common question so I will try to be brief! (I'm a girl so it's not my strength haha)

My boyfriend played a little guitar in his younger days and every time we go to a concert he mentions that he would like to get a bass guitar and learn to play.

I have zero knowledge about guitars of any kind so although I know that I could probably get a great used guitar of higher quality - I have no way of evaluating a used model ... so I am looking to buy a good starter bass new.

I don't know what info would be useful, but my boyfriend is early 50's, stocky, 6'1" ... large hands/wide fingers (his Harley gloves are 2x-3x).

Since he has played guitar in the past, he does know quite a bit about them - he often points out a guitar and tells me the year range and type and some interesting fact ... but I have no idea what brand he would chose? (yes that means I didn't pay very good attention ;) )

Genre of music would be classic rock, contemporary country and some rockabilly, blues/jazz.

I would like to spend around $400 or a little more if necessary. I know he will move up to a better model of his own choosing if he enjoys playing but I don't want to get something that would be considered cheap or "for a kid."