1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

STATUS graphite fretless necks? anyone?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by akori, Dec 25, 2013.

1. akori

akori Supporting Member

Hey:
    I have found little reliable info from experienced players on STATUS graphite replacement necks (in this case, a Jazz fretless).
    Anyone ever have one? All comments are appreciated. Especially: weight, tone, actual straightness, adjustability, stability...
    I have some experience w/ moses ("meh", bigtime...poor quality all around, returned under warranty.) and Modulus (R.I.P.) So STATUS is the only resort for a J replacement graphite fretless.

Thanks.

2. IGotGas

IGotGas Cajun Rocker

I own several Stati, and I've put several necks on Fender body's by both Status and Moses. Of the three Moses necks, only one worked out for me (it was a heavily customized from their factory order so maybe that played a roll?).

Simply put, anything graphite from Status is the bees knees. Now, I don't play fretless so I can't speak to that. But the build on the two Status necks I purchased was simply peerless. The boards were fantastic, the necks stayed straight even after two years of L O N G tours and getting beat up and introduced to wide varieties of temperature and humidity (any time there WAS a problem, it was the body/neck seat, never the neck). The fret work was outstanding to boot. I miss those two basses so much (I sold them about a year ago) that I'm about to embark on a pretty cool Blacktop J bass body / status neck build this coming spring. I'm even going to be extra douchy and have an over the top led lights package installed on the neck in the UK before it gets shipped over. I hope to be a temp & humidity proof replica of TRON!! lol

3. Jazz Ad