Sterling By Musicman (SBMM) Ray35/Ray34 Review *long post*

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rappa29, Nov 18, 2009.

1. rappa29

rappa29

Haven't seen a ton of reviews on these basses so figured I'd chime in and maybe help out anyone on the fence about one of these.

Disclaimer:
    I own a USA Stingray 4H.
    I’ve played a USA Stingray 5HH.
    I’ve noodled around with USA Stingray 5H.
    I’m not a tone Nazi, but I know what I like.
    I’m not a pro. I’m the average Joe who works a 9-5 but is lucky enough to have time and people to play with in bands, gigs and recordings.
    That’s the extent of my experience with EBMM basses.
    That said, here’s my review on my Sterling By Musicman Ray 35, which I affectionately named IndoRay5.

Price:
    GC tag price was $699.

I bought it for $612 with the gig bag (which is not free BTW, cost $17) and a free pack of strings of my choice (Dads XL nickel 130-45).

That beats the current GC ‘clearance’ prices on select EBMM basses. The lowest price I’ve seen on those is $1004.

Build\Fit\Finish\Aesthetics:
    IMHO, it’s a sharp looking bass.

I bought the basic black, matching, lacquered headstock, black pg, rosewood fb. It’s the only one they had.

I’m not into overly fancy looks for my basses. I’d have been fine with any of the 3 finishes these come in (black, natural, honeyburst).

Weight is heavy. Almost as heavy as my G&L Tribute L2500, but it balances better, IMHO.

Tuners are generic. They seem to work fine. The bass stayed in tune for the most part during a 3 hour recording session the day I bought it and a 4 hour rehearsal the next day.

Knobs and switch are solid. The knobs are very smooth. Not loosey goosey like you sometimes find on GC basses that have been wanked on. The switch is solid.

Bridge looks just like the bridge on my USA SR4H, except with Sterling engraved on it and the 5th saddle. It’s solid.

All the frets are smooth. No jagged edges. They all seem level.