Steve Fossen's Tone

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by BarStarzBass, Apr 26, 2010.

1. BarStarzBass

BarStarzBass

Hi, TB'ers. I'm fairly new to bass (converted guitarist who has seen the light) and still finding my tone (which I know from guitar is a life-long quest anyway!).

I'm really drawn to Steve's tone from the classic Heart records - to my ears it seems a perfect blend between the classic soft-and-round-and-soulful Motown sound and the tight-edgy Chris Squire/Geddy sound - both of which I love too. I'll end up doing my own thing, but Steve's tone is a pretty good starting point for me.

So other than raw talent and technique, what equipment did he use? I've Googled the TB forums and the consensus seems to be - a P-bass through a big SVT rig, though some have commented that he sometimes used J's and others.

From my little-educated ears, the SVT sounds right, but the sound seems sharper than what I normally think comes from a P. Did he use a pick or some special plucking technique? An effect (I get somewhat there using a BrassMaster clone on very minimal fuzz setting). Some sharper-than-standard-Fender p/u?

I understand that he works at BassNW - maybe next time I'm in Seattle I'll just ask him myself, but if anyone has anything, please share!

Thanks.

2. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

He (along with Nancy Wilson, Roger Fisher, and Howard Leese) was interviewed in Guitar Player Magazine decades ago- I think it was around the time "Dog and Butterfly" was released. He was the first bassist I read about who talked about having a LOT of different instruments. Various combinations of Jazz Basses and Precisions, strung with all manner of strings- rounds, flats, and modded rounds. In the interview he specifically mentioned that he had so many basses it didn't make sense to use the same strings on all of them. And he talked about using different basses for specific songs.

Pick and fingers, but I don't recall the amp information at all.

John

3. Axtman