Stevie Wonder "I Wish" - GRRR!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jaywa, Feb 8, 2013.

1. jaywa

jaywa

Song is in Eb... bass is a 4-string in standard tuning... band doesn't want to take it up a half step.

Yuck.

:help:

/rant.

2. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Play it an octave up to annoy them?

Or just like, tune a half step down for the song, maybe just the E will suffice.

3. odarellmc

odarellmc

4. jaywa

jaywa

Yeah... I thought about bringing a 2nd bass tuned down a half step but for just one song in a 3-hour show hardly seems worth it. And de-tuning my bass in the middle of the set would be weird and cause too much down time.

So right now I'm just learning it with my bass in standard tuning but it requires some pretty hellish stretches and weird position shifts. It's probably making me a better player but it ain't a lot of fun.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Holdsg

Holdsg If its got strings, and sings, I'm interested Supporting Member

If I recall correctly, having played this in a band a bout a year ago, the song may be in Eb but the lowest you have to play is the second note of the riff, and I believe that's an F (or F#) which is 1st or (or 2nd) fret on the E string. Play the first note on the A string. I never had a problem playing this song with a 4-string bass in the key on the record. If I had my bass with me right now, I could confirm that, but I never had to detune.

7. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Detuning the low E a half step should be real quick like done by ear. I don't actually know the song but maybe that is already enough to make it playable, and a compromise worth considering?

8. jaywa

jaywa

Yeah I play the first note (the Eb) in the upper octave and then drop down to the low F#. But that still either requires Eb on 1st fret D, or as you said 6th fret A (and a position shift to get back down to the low F#).