1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Stick with Combo or buy a Head and Cab?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by BassPlummet, Feb 25, 2014.

1. BassPlummet

BassPlummet

Hello Bassists of the world and from the universe! Don't want to discriminate or anything.

Anyway, I have been playing Bass for a few months now and I have come to a decision that I am not sure how to make.

I am currently playing through a Warwick BC20 and it's perfectly fine as a practice amp but there are one or two things that make me want to get a head and cabinet.

1) I would like to start getting a better tone and having an amp and cab would help a lot more than 20watt combo amp that only has a 3 band EQ.
    2) I will be prepared for when I start playing gigs.
    3) Buying new shiny toys makes me happy.

Now at the same time I feel like my skill level would just make getting a head and cab a waste as I wouldn't be able to use even a portion of it's potential anyway.

2. orangejulius3

orangejulius3

I was in the same boat when I first started.
    I had a small Carvin combo which got me through practicing.

For live situations, you can get away with some larger combos unless you need more volume.

My suggestion would be to buy a larger combo so it will be still easier to plug in and play, that's if you don't need volume as of now, save up for some kind of half stack of your choosing. Best way to find your equipment is to try a lot of it at music stores.

If you filter your needs as far as amps and cabs, I'm pretty sure we can offer advice.

3. mrmills

mrmills

Get a head and cab and if you need more volume, you can add another cab.

It would not be a waste buying a setup ready for gigging, you will need to get use to what it can do and find your 'sound' with it.

4. BassPlummet

BassPlummet