Stiff, sore, popping index finger. Help?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Sgroh87, Jun 13, 2013.

1. Sgroh87

Sgroh87 Supporting Member

I started playing guitar in December of last year, but a month ago I switched to the bass and I feel way more at home. I'm sure you guys know the feeling.

Anyway, I've started to develop a really weird sensation in my fretting index finger that's bordering on pain. On occasion throughout the day, though almost always when I wake up in the morning, that finger will be stiff and sore, and the feeling doesn't go away until I pop the joints in both directions (first away from my palm and then towards). Throughout the day, I can pop that finger by curling it towards my palm almost on command.

I play for an hour or two five or six days a week. I use one finger per fret on my MiM P-bass string with regular Slinkies in standard tuning, and I usually play sitting down with the neck angled slightly above parallel with the ground. I shake out my arm and stretch between my fingers before I pick up the instrument, and my first warmup exercise is a 1234 spider walk starting at the 9th fret working my way towards the headstock.

Occasionally my thumb gets sore, so I know that I'm pressing too hard, but is that also why my index finger is feeling so strange? What could I be doing technique-wise that is causing this, and how do I fix it?
  2. SVT_COBRA_03

SVT_COBRA_03

I am such a noob I almost feel I have no buisness giving ANY helpful advise. But only from experience, I can say, STAND UP and play. This wont help your finger but getting too used to sitting and playing will destroy you when you go to stand up and play. At least it did for me

My first 3 months of learning was spent sitting. Once I tried to stand, I pretty much had to re-learn everything all over again. Wouldnt think there be that much difference, but for me, it was like black and white.