Stigmatized for where you live

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Comrade Momenta, Apr 6, 2014.

1. Comrade Momenta

Comrade Momenta

I am a Hispanic bassist who lives in a very poor city in New Jersey. I've recently left my cover band and have been looking for something new. Lately though, I feel that I have been stigmatized due to where I live.

I don't think it has much to do with me being Hispanic. When I send out replies to ads I send a video of me playing some songs with my face clearly visible so they know my ethnicity. We'll end up talking trying to set up a day to jam and everything and what ends up happening though is that once they find out where I live I never hear from them again.

My city is known for its drug problem (heroin being the big one here) and I believe that the reputation gets attached to me because of it. I've considered just saying I live a few towns over because I'm convinced that if we actually got to meet and jam, they would overlook where I live. So what do you think I should do? Have you guys ever been in a similar situation?

TL;DR I live in bad neighborhood people think I'm a drug dealing bassist because of it.

2. Winfred

Winfred

I'm not sure that's what people are thinking about you (drug dealer), but I'm not denying it either. I simply don't know.

What's more likely is the usual set of problems that occur when trying to join a band: Lots of musicians are flaky, unreliable, irresponsible, immature, etc etc.

You should ask people why things didn't work out.

Just my 2 cents. Just trying to help. :)

3. Bunk McNulty

Bunk McNulty Supporting Member

4. Jim Campbell

Jim Campbell Banned

exactly....and then add that it's problems are not his,and that he is a serious guy they should consider....

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. derrico1

derrico1 Supporting Member

People's initial judgments are hard to change, even when those judgments are founded on irrelevant or incorrect information.