1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Still any love for Markbass combos?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by joeybcdt, Nov 18, 2012.

1. joeybcdt

joeybcdt

I've been using a Markbass 1-12 combo for a couple of years now. I'm very pleased with it. Lately I've been considering adding the New York 1-12 extension cabinet.

Is there a downside?

Joey
  2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Not if you love what you're getting out of the combo already. Adding a matching cab only improves the sound.
  3. nozkcb

nozkcb Supporting Member

I've gone full circle on my MB 102P combo. I started using it a few years ago and REALLY liked the tone to weight ratio, especially coming from an SVT 4-pro and a Mesa Road-Ready 6x10 cabinet. Then, I started getting into Aguilar gear and bought a TH-500 and swapped the MB amp for the TH-500 (b.t.w. fit like a glove in the combo cab).

Then, after a while I put the MB combo head back in the combo cabinet and used it last night and was again very happy with the sound. Note: I do use a BDDI in front of the amp to warm up the tone but it is still very nice sounding.

If only I could get used to the color. . . . .
  4. Russell L

Russell L

Still loving my CMD 121H combo, for the smaller gigs and rehearsals. And, I love the color.
  5. Buster Brown

Buster Brown

Still loving my CMD 121P and the NY 121 extension cab. My only complaint is that I don't get as many opportunities to play it as I would like.