1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Stingray Two Band 18 volts?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Red Planet, Feb 20, 2014.

  1. Red Planet

    Red Planet

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
    Disclosures:
    Manufacturing Supplier OEM's
    Anyone ever ran a SR preamp at 18 volts?

    Just curious.
  2. Jim C

    Jim C Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5
    Might try this question on the EB forum.
  3. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Likes Received:
    17
    I believe I once asked that very same question and was told that you can't.
  4. RobbieK

    RobbieK

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm pretty sure that opamp is good for 36volts, but you'd have to check the electrolytic caps. You could easily replace them with 25volt caps if you know what you are doing.

    If you are getting distortion or limited battery life, there may be some other problem with the circuit though, especially one that's 30 years old...
  5. Red Planet

    Red Planet

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
    Disclosures:
    Manufacturing Supplier OEM's
    No problems just curious.

    Anyone else know for sure/ever try it?
  6. uOpt

    uOpt Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think they even make opamps that cannot take 18 Volts.
  7. boomertech

    boomertech Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Disclosures:
    Designer/Owner of FEA Labs
    There are many low voltage opamps available that cannot operate at 18V.

    I have been using an LMC6064 in detector circuits for several years and its rated supply voltage is 4.5 – 15V. The LMC6064 is at least a 13 year old design.

    -Frank
  8. uOpt

    uOpt Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fine, I'll read the specific opamp off mine when I open it up next time.
  9. boomertech

    boomertech Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1
    Disclosures:
    Designer/Owner of FEA Labs
    I know that the original MM preamps used an LM4250 opamp which has a maximum supply voltage of +/-18V. So with a single ended supply you could run that opamp with 36V max as RobbieK stated above. But as RobbieK pointed out, the caps would need to be checked to see what their working voltage ratings are.

    -Frank
  10. Red Planet

    Red Planet

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Likes Received:
    6
    Disclosures:
    Manufacturing Supplier OEM's
    Anyone know?
  11. RobbieK

    RobbieK

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Likes Received:
    1
    TBH, with an audio circuit that old, well it wouldn't hurt to replace the caps anyway...
  12. BassLife77

    BassLife77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm wondering where is the other battery is going to fit. It's not much room in the control cavity unless you cut out a space in the wood. The ones I built myself I run at 18 volts for more headroom. But I put them all in Stingray copy basses that I didn't mind chopping into the wood to make the other battery fit.

Share This Page