1. Please note: We are performing several software upgrades tonight, Sept 29th. Please bear with us. You may notice some formatting issues and other bugs.

Stock ESP LTD pickups 18v mod possible?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by terran236, Jan 7, 2013.

1. terran236

terran236

Hello nice to meet you all,

I'm a guitarist venturing into bass territory, I just bought my first bass after owning nothing but guitars(8 to be specific). It seems like fun.:hyper:

It's a 6 string bass. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass/esp-ltd-b-206sm-6-string-bass

Anyway!

I couldn't find any info on converting the stock pickups to 18 volt, thus why I'm wasting your precious forum space. :)

Is it possible to do so? Or do you need EMGs? I have read somewhere that stock pickups run at 18v could possibly be a better option than brand new after market pickups.

It hasn't even arrived yet but I like my tones to be crisp so im sure the stock pickups might be too muddy for the lowest B string.

P.S

I think dan briggs from btbam said in an interview hes still using the same bass he bought like 12 years ago. No mods until a repair man hooked em up with 18 volt mod.

So I assume it's possible i just had to ask those who know.

Thank you all for your time. :bassist:

2. JLS

JLS Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I setup & repair guitars & basses
    Dunno 'bout the ESP pups, the EMGs in my Surveyor are running @ 18v.

3. wcriley

wcriley

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    The pickups in an LTD B206 are not active. They are an OEM version of EMG HZ pickups.

4. rtav

rtav Millionaire Stuntman, Half-Jackalope Supporting Member

I've got one of these and I'd be surprised if you need to make any changes to the sound - wait till you get it setup properly and I think you'll be really pleasantly surprised. :)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. TigerInATrance

TigerInATrance