Stoked, my first bass!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gsprice696, Feb 24, 2014.

1. gsprice696

gsprice696

Figured I'd share this all you guys. I just got my first bass in the mail today. It's a Sterling by Music Man SUB Ray4 in black. This thing is sweet but since I'm a noob I can't play her for crap yet but u hope to learn and catch on quick. I just pray I have the gift! I welcome any suggestions u guys have that might help me learning to play. Ok I've rambled enough, thanks for reading!
  2. Bisounourse

Bisounourse

Congrats.

Let the woodshedding begin; practice, practice, practice and more practice... (and the dull and daft excercises as well: apreggio's and scales, not only songs). :bassist:
  3. Freightshaker

Freightshaker

Congratulations. I will suggest having it professionally set up. You can learn to make adjustments as you find your style.
  4. pudgychef

pudgychef

Congrats on the new bass and the decision to start playing! Bass can be a wonderful lifetime endeavour

Best advice I can give is find a good teacher and take lessons - I didn't when I started and have regretted it ever since
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BigDaddyO

BigDaddyO Rockin' Ruben Supporting Member

First Rule of Playing Bass: Don't drop the instrument! Most important: Have lots of fun!
  7. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

Scott's Bass Lessons:
    http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWTj3vCqkQIsrTGSm4kM34g
    He starts with the basics from how to strings your bass to more advanced stuff.

He's a great bass player and an excellent teacher. There's all kind of extras on his website worth looking at but his beginner videos are a great place to start.
  8. gsprice696

gsprice696

Oh believe me I know all to well I'm gonna have to crawl be fore I can walk much less run lol. Unlike some kids that think it might be easy I expect a challenge plus I'm 30 years old lol but thanks for the advice fellow bassist :)
  9. BassilPesto

BassilPesto Supporting Member