Stories of Gear loss to insane life events?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by ZhuAnRen, Dec 19, 2013.

1. ZhuAnRen

ZhuAnRen

I considered putting this under the new member/introduction forum, since I've been a member for less than a year, and I'm pretty unknown here. I'm from the mid-west, so cultural isolation and being unknown is par for the course. I've been reading the helpful posts on this site for years, not exactly making me a newbie, but aside from a question or two, which my fellow TB-ers are always helpful (or at the very least cool and comical), I have had no interest in posting. I figure almost everything has been said already, and beaten to death. I figured I'd give it another shot, worst case, it may be ignored. But hey, as a bassist, I am used to that.

Thievery always sucks, especially when you loose something priceless. I'm pretty sure quite a few seasoned gigging low-enders have experienced something being stolen, but has anyone else experienced the loss ALL the gear, due to a crazy life situation? If so, did the stolen gear find its way home eventually for anyone? If so, how, and are there any interesting stories to go along with it?

Here is my story (FYI it's long):

In about 2000 - 2004 I was in a fairly good band, we played a bunch of shows, and had a local following. During that time, I had a rather terrible bass. I want to say it was a cheaply made bad import Spector. It was the Brownest sounding bass I ever played. The tone controls only went from Mud to Ultra-Mud. Needing something different, I acquired a genuine 62' Fender P (in beautiful sunburst/tort) that was one of the nicest basses I ever played, and that suited me for the rest of my term with that band. We broke up, band members moved, etc.