1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Straight to the point bassist looking for band ad.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Starflyer59, Feb 13, 2014.

1. Starflyer59

Starflyer59

Disclaimer :This is not me!!! I'm just wondering what is your guys opinion on this fellow player.

I am a bassist from xxxxx island living here in xxxxx. It seems that as high in demand as bassists are everyone out here seems to be more interested in "try outs" for bassist and can't just stick to one who is dedicated. Treating the whole band thing like an American idle thing. Here's the deal. I'm good at bass. I have an understanding of rhythm and can keep time. I enjoy any kind of rock music that doesn't include hard rock or metal or punk. I'm more of an indie rock / country fan. I like tragically hip and similar kinds of music. I am looking for a band that likes to play and write originals. Looking for a band who has a pretty descent singer and some good grooves. Don't waste my time by just having me come in for a trial. Fact is I can play and I'm not going to be able to play your songs flawlessly off the bat. You'll have to go over chord progressions. I'm not going to come in and be able to play a show the next day. I'm not the "bass solos everywhere" kind of bassist. I play simple and solid bass. Using the root note from the guitar riff to bass my bass riffs off. I just need to learn your songs is all and have you be serious about wanting a dedicated bassist instead