1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

String Gauge and Tension and all that nonsense

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by LazyGecko, Feb 18, 2014.

1. LazyGecko

LazyGecko

Hey TB people. I am about to get new strings for my Fender MIM P bass. I was wondering how would higher or lower gauge strings affect my playing. Which ones do you guys prefer? I've been playing for 3 years and have never really ventured past standard gauge dr flats.

2. BboogieXVII

BboogieXVII

Medium to slightly heavier than medium probably sounds best on P bass because with this instrument in general and I am generalizing people usually want a rounder or chunkier sound and the tight bright stuff with the smaller gauges left for jazz bass type instruments.

3. sotua

sotua

Usually, for a given scale length, tuning, string Model and brand, lighter gauge will result in a somewhat thinner tone and less tension, heavier/louder tone and tighter tension with heavier gauge.

Mind you that extreme gauge variations might need a new nut, and usually a change of gauge requires a setup.

4. StevieMac

StevieMac

The only way to know for sure is to experiment. If you think you might like a lighter or heavier gauge buy a set and give them a try.

Your next set of strings probably won’t be your last set. ;)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Mushroo

Mushroo

Here is an experiment.

Instead of EADG, tune your bass up a half-step to FBbEbAb. If you like it better this way, then you are a good candidate for heavier-gauge strings.

Instead of EADG, tune down a half-step to EbAbDbGb. If you like it better this way, then you are a good candidate for lighter-gauge strings.