String guage and tuning suggestions for Djent Metal (5-string bass)

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by MX5J6, Nov 9, 2012.

1. MX5J6

MX5J6

I am in the midst of forming a band, I love the Djent sound and want something along those lines. I will be getting a custom 5-string bass with a 35" scale and will probably be using Circle K Strings? So what kind of tuning would i need for a sound like that of Vildhjarta or Meshuggah?

I will probably be using something like a fEARful 15/6/1 (maybe adding another later on) and a Genz Benz ShuttleMAX 9.2 head, if that helps at all. I am pretty new to playing the bass, but learning quickly. So I would appreciate any advice anyone can offer.

2. MooseLumps

MooseLumps Supporting Member

3. MX5J6

MX5J6

Ha. Seriously though, no suggestions?

4. jscomposer

jscomposer

Basses don't djent. Sorry. lol

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. MX5J6

MX5J6

Then how do you play bass in a djent band? XD

7. tylerwylie

tylerwylie Supporting Member

You can "djent" in standard BEADG tuning. That sound comes from guitars using lower tunings playing the exact same thing as the bass, however EQ'd cleverly to create a "single" sound

8. jscomposer

jscomposer

I thought "djent" was literally that palm muted raking octave power chord sound. Seems it refers to single note, not-at-all palm muted, staccato syncopated runs on the 8th string a-la Meshuggah post-Nothing. In other words, actual djent has been around since the 80s. What people mean by "djent" nowadays is "i can has meshuggah's 8th string?"

Amirite?

9. ixlramp

ixlramp

Depends on how low you want to tune, on the tuning of the guitars in your band, and whether you want to match their tuning (either unison or octave down) to make playing their riffs easier ... ? Consult your guitarists ...

10. MX5J6

MX5J6