String muting technique when using a pick

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by offtehdeepend, Jun 17, 2011.

1. offtehdeepend

offtehdeepend

I'm just starting to learn how to play using online lessons because I cannot afford an actual teacher at this time. I have no prior experience. I have learned how to mute strings using the floating thumb method when plucking with my fingers, but I want to start learning how to play with a pick, too. What is the best approach?
  2. FaithNoMan

FaithNoMan

This may sound weird, but I use my left hand a lot of the time, to mute them.
  3. PaulMacCnj

PaulMacCnj

I used the edge of the palm of my picking hand. You have to find that sweet spot where the strings don't go completely dead and don't vibrate wildly. Also, like FaithNoMan said, left hand (fingers) muting is another way to do it.
  4. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Owner: BassStringsOnline.com
    When playing with a pick, you gotta do the palm mute thing.

Check out some guitar video's on YouTube...

Basically, you rest your palm on top of / just in front of the bridge saddles...

OOPS! (((adding)))

or wait... You mean like muting strings from ringing, rather than muted tone!

Oh, its all about the left hand muting. I lay my fingers across the top of the strings, and only apply pressure on the string I want to fret, its very slight movements...

This isnt the best video example in the world, but I am only pressing down on the E string with my 1st finger, the other fingers are reaching over muting the B string and the other strings... Your fingers are in a slightly curved shape,

SLaPiNFuNK Bass Vid
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups