String Recommendations - Epiphone

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by misterbadger, Jan 1, 2014.

1. misterbadger

misterbadger

I'm the proud new owner of a late-40s Epiphone B4 that's now in bass-rehab and need input on choosing strings for it. It came with an ancient set of guts, hasn't been played in 45 years, and desperately needs a setup, so I have no idea how it will sound when back in playable shape.

I'm relatively new to DB (1.5 years) and have had limited exposure to the world of string choices. My present bass (Upton Romanian ply) came with Spiro Mittels (kind of hard-sounding) that I've swapped for Evah mediums (a darker, somewhat more complex sound). I'm primarily playing bluegrass, but my teacher is guiding me toward jazz standards. 99.9%+ pizz right now, but working on my bow chops and want to keep arco as an option. I find myself most comfortable with a relatively thin string - the few gut-strung instruments I've tried felt kind of clumsy - and seem to be happier with some tension. My ideal sound would have some thump and tend toward dark rather than bright. Again, these opinions have been formed without much experience; I've got flexibility and would certainly entertain other ideas.

My luthier is happy with the integrity of the top and has no concerns about string tension. I don't want to consider guts at this point. He's suggested Helicore Hybrids as a relatively inexpensive starting point.

Any and all advice appreciated.

Have at it!

2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg