Strings for Drop C

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by netgeist, Jun 25, 2013.

1. netgeist

netgeist

TBers,

I recently starting playing with a band that prefers to do everything in drop C. I'm new to drop tuning...is there a string that will do a better job than something standard?

- netgeist

2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Gold Supporting Member

I would run .120, maybe .125 for a decent low C. I run a .125 for my B string and it is only 1 semi tone up from there so I would use that as a reference.

.90-.105 does not make for a very good C, maybe .110-.115 would work but I don't know for certain.

I would only make the top string slightly larger, I like a very thin G string .40, so I wouldn't want to go more than .5 but you could go thicker if you prefer fat strings.

3. sunfighter

sunfighter

I used to use heavy gauge GHS boomers.... 50-115 for my band at the time that played in drop d and drop c. Im not sure if they make them but i bet a heavy gauge set of Roto-Sounds would be cool too.

4. socialleper

socialleper

Drop D (DADG) or standard D (DGCF) can work well with .105s on long scale necks, but are a little loose for the later. A number of companies make a .110 set that is good for tuning one step down, but I've found them insufficient for drop C tuning (CGCF). D'Addario just released their EXL160BT set that they call "balanced" but I think work pretty good for drop C tuning. The gauges are .050 .067 .090 .120, which is a .110 set with a heavier low string. I'm trying them right now on a Lakland and I like them so far. I didn't have to do anything to my nut to make them fit and the "E" saddle just had to be adjusted to correct for the height of the string. I'm pretty sure my intonation is all over the place though. I'll correct that if I decide to stick to them.