Stuck advancing my technique, what do I do next?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Absumone, Mar 1, 2014.

1. Absumone

Absumone

I've been playing bass actively for a few months now, and I'm getting stuck advancing my technique. I'm at a point on which I can play easy/normal songs easily, but other songs just seem too difficult for me to learn and I give up too quickly.

I also play in a band, and our songs are mainly pop punk. So the bass lines are usually really easy.

Now I want to learn more stuff, I want to advance and play "like those guys in pedal demo's on youtube do" I want to be able to generate some cool bass line on the spot, but how do I do this?

How do I build up my technique from playing basic songs towards being able to play generatively? Where do I start and what route do I take?
  2. gearhead1972

gearhead1972

One thing that has helped me is branch out to all kinds of music. To start, find out what bands influenced the bands you currently listen to and play some of their stuff. then find out who influenced the influences, wash and repeat. Can't go wrong with learning some motown/stax songs, also 70's funk, jazz. When I first picked up the bass I started on early rock and roll/ pop. Learn your fifths, your octaves, your major scales, your pentatonics. Learn ghost notes, chromatic runs from one chord to the next, quick mutes, chord triads, chord arpeggios.
  3. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

To do what you want to do you have to be able know what chords are involved in the song and how to build a bass line for those chords.

Identifying the chords is the first task. I rely upon fake chord sheet music for this. Why? Well every band I've ever played with the director hands out fake chord sheet music on what he wants played. It has the chords shown and the order they appear. The advantage of this is we all are playing from the same sheet of music.