1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

"Stuck in the Middle" by Stealers Wheel

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by DannyShem, Jan 31, 2013.

1. DannyShem

DannyShem

I am intrigued by this song. The base is the defining feature of the song, yet it does not play the melody. How to describe/define the roll of the bass in this song? Are there other songs where the bass plays a similar central role? Any input would be welcome (I am pretty new to the bass and music theory).

2. BillyIVbass

BillyIVbass

Disclosures:
    Gear Reviews Guitar World Online
    It's just great bass playing. Sort of a walking bassline. Other songs with similar bass:

Beatles- Eight Days A Week, Come Together
    Green Day- Longview
    Aerosmith- Sweet Emotion
    John Mellencamp's re-make of "Wild Nights" ...well I'm not sure if that's the same vibe, but it's got killer bass.

3. topo morto

topo morto

Don't know if there's a traditonal music term... I would just think of it as a song built around a bassline / bass riff. As the bass has become capable of more volume, range, and tonal variation over the years there have been loads of them. But they've always been about.

Ben E King - Stand by Me
    Simply Red - Sad old Red
    Rick James - Super Freak

Just search for 'best bassline' in google, you'll find loads.

4. LordRyan

LordRyan

I play in a band that does "Stuck in the Middle With You". It is a pretty cool part. I put in quite of bit of study on it. Some other songs we play with strong melodic Bass underpinning are:

Eight Days a Week
    All My Loving
    I Saw Her Standing There
    Ob La Di Ob La Da
    Black is Black
    Under the Boardwalk
    I'm a Believer

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Banned

Great song. Sad about Gerry Rafferty.

7. MarkMgibson