1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Studio recording with electric basses

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by PaulDB, Nov 28, 2013.

1. PaulDB

PaulDB

Hello all, firstly apologies for my noob questions! I have recently returned to electric basses after 7 years on double bass. Before I started playing double bass, I was a kid with no real idea what I was doing, so while an experienced player, I am a beginner in the world of electronics.

I had a Hartke WK5, which when I took it into the studio recently was buzzy and clunky.

I recently acquired a 90's Stingray 5 with the 3-way pickup. I love it live and assumed this would translate well to the studio. Not so! The sound is very boomy and growly. The engineer said that's just the way musicman basses are, but I'm not a fan, and very disappointed.

He suggested a 2x9v batter (18v) mod to the pickups in order to give it more headroom, which would let the bass gain a bit more definition in the recordings, hopefully sounding a bit more like an old Fender than a precocious youngster. Would this be a safe mod for my bass, and do you think it would make a difference?
  2. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

I've never heard of an 18v mod for MM basses. I'm not sure the preamp can handle that much voltage (it's the preamp that is active, not the pickups).