Study/books/DVD suggestions for

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Drew617, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Drew617

Drew617

Hi,

I'm new here - second post. I've lurked and gleaned a bunch (thanks!) and finally decided to register.

I'm looking for suggestions for study material. Have ordered a couple DVDs that have been a little too basic. "Here's the A string! Now, pound 8th notes on it!"

Quick history: I've played guitar (noodly lead electric and flatpicked acoustic) for about 15 years but haven't been terribly focused or disciplined about it. Was self-taught and absolutely have bad habits. Have limited experience in band situations and have done local jams more frequently.

I owned a few basses about a decade ago but didn't stick with it at the time.

Recently picked the instrument back up… feel I've hit a wall with the six-string. I'd like to take in some theory/technique instruction early in the learning process before settling into stupid habits.

The bassists I like to hear most are Jack Casady, Harvey Brooks, Jamerson, McCartney.

When I pick up the bass now, I'm playing way too much like a guitar player. Way up and down the neck in pentatonic, like Phil Lesh minus brains and talent. That entertains me just fine in my study, but it's not going to fly with other musicians.

Can anyone recommend an instructional [book, DVD, whatever] for someone in my situation?

Cheers
    Drew
  2. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

First, put the pick down. Not because using a pick us wrong at all. Only because it's too easy for you yo fall I to guitar bits from years of playing that way. Dropping the pick will break up the patterns.

The go buy a copy of the books "Standing In The Shadows Of Motown" and Ed Freidlands book on building walking basslines. Use those two books.

John
  3. Drew617

Drew617