1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Suggest a bass for me please

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pat5150, Jan 9, 2013.

1. pat5150

pat5150

I'm pretty new at this, trying to get the lay of the land as far as bass choices. I'm currently playing an SX precision bass with P-J pickups. I do like it a lot but it's not perfect and I'm on the hunt for something else. My main criteria are that it have a thinner or narrower neck (J basses feel more comfortable, not perfect but getting closer), have good balance (this sx seems to have serious neck dive), and have a lot of versatility in the tone department. Like I said I'm a new bassist (but been playing guitar for 14 years) and I'm trying to find "my tone." I like both the P and J pickup sounds. I got a chance to play one of the cheaper line of music man basses and liked that too. The local selection is pretty limited (best buy music dept...that's about it), but I'm out playing all the different ones I can, and playing my SX hours each day. Around $500 is my price point. Any and all of your thoughts and opinions, please let me know.
  2. Aznslappadabass

Aznslappadabass