Suggest me a self-teach method (Book or DVD)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by BobChi, Dec 26, 2013.

1. BobChi

BobChi

Hey guys, I would love your recommendations on any ebooks or DVDs regarding self-teaching. I can't afford going to a bass teacher so I'm looking for a free option. I am completely new to bass guitar and music theory. I've downloaded a couple of books and DVDs but they seem a bit boring/inconsistent.

2. Roy Vogt

Roy Vogt Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Accuracy, Carvin, Hotwire, Conklin Basses, DNA, Eden
    This is neither an ebook or DVD, but I did a series of 65 lessons for Eden Amplifiers that come with pdf files and mp3 playalongs here:
    http://www.eden-electronics.com/info/lessons/roy/
    Of course, there are many, many bass lessons on Youtube. I would check out these two channels:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/devinebass
    http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL1CFAFDF04A579259
    Finally, although it's not free, you can check out my DVD course:
    www.teachmebassguitar.com
    Best of luck and keep practicing! :)

3. BobChi

BobChi

Online courses are also an option as long as they are gradually increasing and straightforward.

4. Dan Knowlton

Dan Knowlton Supporting Member

+1 on "Teach me Bass Guitar!" I'm working through it - really good stuff there.

Dan K.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BobChi

BobChi

As I said, I can't afford to spend a lot (if any) money so free stuff would be better.

Is Hal Leonard's Bass method any good? Anything of that sort?

7. fearceol

fearceol

Yes, that's a great book and is always recommended here on TB. Get all three volumes together in one spiral bound edition.

As a matter of interest, I'd be curious to know what books/DVD's you found to be boring and inconsistent.

8. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.