Suggestions for someone moving from combo to head/cab setup

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by gr8bassplayer, Feb 25, 2013.

1. gr8bassplayer

gr8bassplayer

Hi all,
    I've been playing bass for about 5 years and am in high school. I would like to upgrade from my 50 watt Yamaha amp that's 20 years old. I would like to spend around $1000, but am defiantly willing to wait a while and save for a better setup, maybe up to $2500.

Thanks for your answers in advance.
  2. IPYF

IPYF

What are your objectives?
    ie. Loudness, portability, a certain tone?

Set some parameters here, otherwise most everyone here will probably pitch you every amp available under the sun.
  3. Nephilymbass

Nephilymbass Supporting Member

My suggestions...

don't buy a head. Buy a separate preamp and power amp. This allows you flexibility to change one or the other down the road if you want. Pre amps come in pedals and rack units. The advantage of this is you can get different sounds much cheaper. I love my tech 21 sans amp RBI for rock/metal stuff. But you can switch to say an EBS micro bass and go play in a funk band without having to spend all the extra money on separate heads. This also allows you to upgrade power amps later on If you want more power.

what would you use it for? If your not In a band and don't plan on playing shows and your amps gonna stay at home then how heavy/portable the equipment is might not matter to you. But if your going to be moving it all the time it's easier to move say 2 2X10 cabs instead of one hundred pound 4x10. Really big cabs like 8x10s normally have nice wheels but are tough to transport and cost wise you can buy say an ampeg 810 cheaper than a most top of the line 4x10s.
  4. superjesus

superjesus Supporting Member

Don't forget your speaker cable. ;)
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums: