1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Super ambitious First Build, no woodworking experience..!!

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by suraj, Feb 16, 2012.

1. suraj

suraj

I've been spending a lot of time on tb over the last two or so years and been watching the luthiers corner, and boy have you guys inspired me to build a bass..!! so onto my first build :hyper:

Now I have zero woodworking experience and obviously i should be making the simplest bass possible out of guitar kits or pre planed wood, BUT all this isn't even available in my country..!!
    So I decided I have to somehow use raw lumber without useful, expensive machines like a table saw, jointer or planer..!! :bawl:

After a lot of research, I formed an opinion that a drum sander is the most useful tool to build a guitar. I had a spare motor, and away I started building one :D

Specs of my over ambitious first build -

Multi scale, 37"-34", 5 string neck through
    7 peice wenge, maple neck, with wenge heel block, and wenge headstock
    bookmatched wenge fingerboard
    ash body wings
    2 homemade humbuckers
    fiber optic, LED lit side markers
    Aguilar OBP-3
    Single string bridges

:bag: :bag:

I have no clue if i'm even capable of building a bass, and i'm putting too much money in for something that may or may not work.. But I get very little time from education, and a plywood bass would still take the same amount of effort to build, so I rather use good woods and good everything :smug:

Onto the pictures (which i have no clue how to upload) :bag:

2. suraj

suraj

Pic 1 shows the drum sander and Jointing jig I built in action. Both the sander and the jig use flat granite slabs for true surfaces.

Pic 2 is a mockup of the bass essentially. Nothing is glued at this point.

Attached Files:

3. suraj