1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Sustainer

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by SamaelXV, Mar 21, 2014.

1. SamaelXV

SamaelXV

im new to bass effects, may i ask about sustainers (the one that prolong the bass sound)? does it really function like an active bass pick up? if so, it can be an alternative to active pickups right?

2. spz8

spz8

A "sustainer" is a variant name for a compressor. The sustain is a result of the threshold, ratio, attack and release controls working together. It has nothing to do with pickups, active or otherwise.

3. SamaelXV

SamaelXV

oh.. but can a compressor prolong a bass note? thanks for the reply..

4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Yes it can. Be aware though that more sustain comes with more noise, and more flattened dynamics.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Deep Cat

Deep Cat Supporting Member

Media:
    Fernandes makes a sustainer system for guitars that basically mounts in the place of a guitar pickup. They work by using the pickups in reverse (sending out a magnetic field) to agitate the strings.

It doesn't function like an active pickup, and can't replace them.

7. spz8

spz8

^^^ Read Bongo's compressor FAQs, it will tell you everything you need to know!

8. johnk_10

johnk_10 vintage bass nut Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    John K Custom Basses
    the mad professor (BJF designed) forest green compressor has a sustain mode that doesn't compress your attack but compresses your signal afterwards which lengthens the sustain of your notes.

9. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

+. Yep

10. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar