1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

SVT-CL: Using "Gain" as Volume?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by AndyChandy, Jan 28, 2014.

1. AndyChandy

AndyChandy

I've got an SVT-CL on the way in the mail. I'll admit I don't know too much about the functions of tube amps; I'm new to the game. I'll try this when I get an opportunity, but I'd like to know: what is the difference in sound when diming the master knob and using gain as the volume control, as opposed to the other way around? I suppose there are also ways to adjust volume in-between those two extremes. The main question I have, though, is: am I putting more strain on the amp by doing one or the other? i.e. if I dime the master are the tubes going to need to be replaced sooner?
  2. vbchaos

vbchaos

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    Many tube-amp users do this. With master on full, you get all the tub-ish sound from the power tube and a more clean signal from the pre-amp.
    Back in the days when amps had no master knob, the volume was adjusted with the pre-amp gain only.
    More gain from the pre-amp usually (not necessarily) adds overdrive to the signal that will be re-produced by the power amp section.
    I did this with my fulltube amp, too. Master to max and use gain to adjust volume.

don't believe the myths - it won't harm the amp nor is it better or worse. It is just different.