1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

SVT PRO 7 on a Hartke 410 hydrive??

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by CompactedOrc, Feb 11, 2014.

1. CompactedOrc

CompactedOrc

Is an SVT PRO 7 good on a Hartke 410 hydrive? I want to know if the ohms match. I already have and svt pro 7 and I'm looking into buying the hydrive. Is this a good match. I'm not tech savvy
    so please let me know before I buy it. I've heard that the ohms do not match. I've also heard that its better to get a cabinet with less wattage.Thanks.:bassist:

2. VeganThump

VeganThump

I'm not sure where you are getting your information from, but if I were you, I'd stop using that source. The Hartke hydrive 410 would match very well with an SVT-7 based on technical specifications. The SVT-7 can run at 4 or 8 ohms and puts out 600watts and 1000 watts respectively, the Hartke Hydrive is 8ohms and can handle 1000 watts. So to answer your question, they will be a good match as far as impedance goes. As far as how they sound together, I can comment on that because I have never heard them together. I would recommend trying out a few different cabs with the 7Pro to see what works best for you. I use my 7pro with an Ampeg 810e and it sounds killer.

3. CompactedOrc

CompactedOrc

4. AdamR

AdamR Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: VF Cables, Dirtbag Clothing
    You cant under power a speaker if thats what your asking.
    Like stated, Your amp will run at 4 or 8 ohms, The hydrive is 8ohms so your fine there.

The SVT is only 1000 watts into a 4ohm load, so you would need two Hydrive 410s to see the 1000 watts. The 600 watts into a any cab is enough to pop the speakers if your not careful.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. CompactedOrc

CompactedOrc