SVT3-Pro vs. Terror Bass

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by xnogoodjackx, Dec 20, 2013.

1. xnogoodjackx

xnogoodjackx

I recently got an SVT3-Pro (a couple months ago) and, to put it simply, have not been satisfied with the overall volume of the head. Although I really enjoy the all-tube feel to it, it just doesn't seem to be pushing strong enough through my Classic Series 8x10 (I play with a pick in a hardcore band so that might be something do to with it).

I've heard a lot of good things about the Orange Terror Bass being a very versatile head and I was wondering what everyone's opinions would be on this situation? Should I sell the SVT3-Pro and get a Terror Bass or continue my search? Thanks!
  2. xnogoodjackx

xnogoodjackx

I'm also running the head through a Sansamp 3 channel. Not sure if this has anything to do with it. If you can't tell, I'm somewhat new to this whole pro gear thing. Haha
  3. chaosMK

chaosMK Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    The SVT-3 isnt really a powerhouse (same goes for the SVT-4, I feel like it puts out half of what it's rated). You may be able to get more out of it with some EQ adjustment. Disengage the Ultra Low, keep Bass flat, boost 150 Hz on the graphic, use whatever Gain you like and crank the Master.

If you have a huge low end profile, it'll suck the power out of the amp. A little more mids and low mids instead of lows will help you in the mix.

FWIW, I've never heard anyone complain about the output of the Terror Bass.
  4. P-oddz

P-oddz Supporting Member

Just as a side - the SVT3-Pro isn't all-tube.

As far as not pushing strong enough, my guess is you'd be better suited (especially playing hardcore and depending on your guitarists' setups) with something that's going to push more than 450W into your 810.

Methinks you need more power.