SVT3 scratching noises?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Venom of God, Jan 12, 2013.

1. Venom of God

Venom of God

Hey guys,
    lately my SVT3 has started to make these weird *scratching* noises, even when the mute switch is engaged. Tonally any playing through it sounds the same as it always has, apart from the scratching. I want to say that I think it's an issue with dirty power or something, as I'm not long in a new house, but I have used it here before and not noticed anything strange. It wasn't doing it when I last used it at a friends house, so I'm worried it got shaken up in the car or something?

Could it be a tube issue? I think not due to it sounding the same, but I'm far from an expert. Unfortunately I don't have an interface at home right now (nor do I own a PA) so I can't test the DI.

Increasing the volume or gain does not seem to make any difference, as expected I guess since it still does it on mute.

Any ideas?
  2. Venom of God

Venom of God

And after just turning it back on then it had stopped completely, until I hit the bright switch and it made a sound like I imagine a machine gun would sound like were it run through a high pass filter. Again, this happens regardless of whether mute is on or off. Starting to really not like this..
  3. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

Might just be a tube that needs re-seating or replacing.
  4. Venom of God

Venom of God

Just re-seated them then, thought that I'd fixed it as the noises were all gone, but once I plugged a lead in it started again after hitting the bright switch! Might have a play with the jack and see what happens.

It was a little messier inside than I would have expected, being a Vietnamese model I wonder if the yank amps are tidier? Lots of messy silicon work and glue spilt onto the PCB. Apart from the 12AU7 which was an Electro Harmonix (with crap stuck to it) the tubes were all Sovtek's though, which surprised me, I was expecting Chinese tubes.