Swapping out to a fretless board

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Ken J, Jan 6, 2014.

1. Ken J

Ken J Coginchaug New Horizons Band/Skinning Cats Gold Supporting Member

I'm looking for some advice on having a Luthier swap out the finger boards on my fretted basses to a plain ebony board.
    I've been playing fretless for several years now and plan on staying with it. A fretted board is uncomfortable for me and don't see much use for my stile. I also greatly favor short scales.
    I have spent loads of time and money converting fretted boards with out total satisfaction. Fret fill ins and rosewood boards aren't working out.
    I've taken a giant step and have Mr. Beckwith custom building a Songbird for me and I'm sure I'm going to love it but the expense will limit my collection.
    I love buying and customizing affordable basses but I'm not a woodworker. I've had a custom fretless neck made for my Squier Jaguar short scale but wanted to keep the original head stock as would all my basses.
    So I'm looking into the next choice. Just replacing the finger board to a plain ebony board with side markers.
    I'm looking to work with someone affordably. I've done some surfing on the web and found pricing to swap out finger boards was around $600-$800 and this is way out of my budget.
    So the questions are as
    Is this a worth wiled path and who could help me?
    Thanks

2. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

$600-$800 seems high for that job....like the kind of price a person would come up with if they really just didn't want to do the job.

What kind of bass is this?

3. ctmullins

ctmullins Registered thumper Supporting Member

If you're talking about bolt-on instruments, then the easier and more practical (by far) option is swapping out necks. I wouldn't even consider bothering with a fingerboard swap on a bolt-on.

But if it's a non-removable neck, then that's a different story. No idea about pricing, though...

4. pfox14

pfox14