Switching between bass & synth; two amps/one cabinet?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by jbiscuti, Jan 15, 2013.


  1. jbiscuti

    jbiscuti

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Grolsch Strap Locks
    POSSIBLE STUPID QUESTION ALERT :hyper:

    I'm thinking about playing a keyboard as well as my P-Bass live, since many of our band's songs are modern dance covers; plus, I love playing keys and it'd be fun!

    I'm trying to figure out the most efficient way to do it, without having to bring much more to gigs then I usually do.

    Say my rig for a night consists of TWO Little Mark II heads (one for bass and one for synth) and ONE 2x10 cabinet. Could I send the speaker out of both heads into ONE cabinet, without doing any harm?
     
  2. R Baer

    R Baer Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Disclosures:
    President, Baer Amplification
    NEVER plug two amps into one cabinet. It releases the magic smoke and that is a very bad thing indeed!
     
  3. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    There are specialized switch-boxes for A/B toggling safely between two solid-state amp heads; however the added cost, versus just adjusting the EQ of ONE amp head for both instruments, is not worth it.
     
  4. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Media:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    Wouldnt it be easier to DI out to a small mixer, run you synth in to that as well, then drive the power section of your amp with it all?
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Stumbo

    Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are.

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    How about an a/b switch to select amp?
     
  7. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    +1 This is how I would do it.
     
  8. jefkritz

    jefkritz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Media:
    2
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    iowa city, IA
    or have an a/b switch between bass and synth going into 1 amp
     
  9. Baer

    Baer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Little Mark amps have both a balanced line out and a balanced line in. Run one amp to the other using these connections.
     
  10. jeffbonny

    jeffbonny Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  11. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Certainly but at what price? A micro mixer is a few tens of bucks!
     
  12. RCCollins

    RCCollins Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    All you need is an A/B switch. Bass amps and cabs typically work great for synth. You might want some kind of 2-channel preamp, but there's no reason to run 2 amps.
     
  13. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Media:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    +1

    $39
     
  14. jeffbonny

    jeffbonny Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    A cheap, semi-disposable micro mixer is probably not very transparent and it certainly won't inspire the confidence a bombproof piece of pro audio gear will. Your sound and rig reliability are only as good as the weakest link in your signal chain.
     
  15. Baird6869

    Baird6869 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Disclosures:
    Nobody is stupid enough to actually pay me to play their gear.
    This is what I would do.
     
  16. dspellman

    dspellman

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    No, you can't do that.

    I use a small mixer and run that into a single head and from there into a single cabinet. Couldn't be much simpler.
     
  17. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Agreed, however even the cheapest ยต mixer is cleaner than a lot of bass amps. Such is the revolution we're passing through.
     
  18. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    As a bassist/synth player, the idea to use a mixer is good. I use a Mackie 402-VLZ3 in my synth set up, and run it straight into a bass rig. The Mackie has inputs for line level, (the synth), instrument level, (the bass), and mic level, should you need it. Also has a handy 2 band eq on the 1st 2 channels. No need to use 2 amps, and certainly easier and safer than 2 amps into one cab, even with a switcher.
     
  19. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Be careful with synth lows into bass cabs, specialy a single 2x10.
     
  20. smeet

    smeet Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills, CA
    Are you saying take the post-eq DI from the amp, blend that with the synth output, and send that to the power amp return?

    Or take the send from the amp to the mixer and blend that with the synth and send that to the power amp return?

    Maybe the two signal paths are identical, and I assume that the bass signal in each case will go through the preamp and eq, and the synth signal will obviously directly go to power amp.
     
  21. dagovna659

    dagovna659

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I use a $45 Behringer Xenyx 502 mixer (synth and bass into mixer) mixer out into my amp. You only need 1 amp. Also with the Pre and eq on the mixer really makes your sound crystal clear. If you get a chance go to your nearest GC or Sam Ash and try it, everthings already in the store, can't hurt. Good luck
    P.S. I've had my mixer since 2007 and no problems despite numerous gigs.
     

Share This Page