Swr Bass 350 or wait?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Stevenjm, Nov 27, 2012.

1. Stevenjm

Stevenjm

I started a thread the other the day regarding bass cabs but I just picked up a used fender rumble 4x10. I'm just wanting to upgrade my rig.

My local music go round has a red-face SWR "bass 350" that I could afford with just trade ins. Is it worth it at $250, or should I keep saving for something better? (That orange bass terror is super tempting!)

I'm new to bass so I'm not really sure what kind of tone I'm going after. I have a Matt Freeman sig classic vibe bass, and want an amp thats warm with some punch. I might swap out the squier pickup for something warmer as well.

Thanks for any help guys.
  2. kcole4001

kcole4001

I have the chrome face version.
    Good amp, pretty flexible, plenty of power. I run mine through an SWR 4X10.
    For $250 I'd do it no problem.
  3. Stevenjm

Stevenjm

Cool thanks for the input. The reviews seem to be mostly good for these amps. Currently I have an acoustic b200h, and something about it (maybe my pickups) just sounded really thin, even when I turned the bass up and treble down.
  4. chadds

chadds

Try it set flat AE no more than 11:00. Gain til light flashes back off a hair. Master to taste. Now you'll hear your bass. Reduce treble a little on amp. If using an SWR cab, tweeter barely on. Now you can get your warmth.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Stevenjm

Stevenjm

Ill try that. Thanks.
  7. Chef

Chef Moderator Supporting Member

Media:
    Disclosures:
    Staff Reviewer; Bass Gear Magazine
    The Bass 350 is a great amp. I used one for years.
  8. T. Alan Smith

T. Alan Smith

This.
  9. Stevenjm

Stevenjm

Cool. Well if they still have it there tomorrow maybe I'll have to pick it up. It seems $250 is a good deal on it, where I could at least sell it and make my money back if its not for me. Kind of the luxury of buying used.
  10. Chef

Media:
    Disclosures: