1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

SWR LA 12" combo amp review.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by sorefingers, Mar 19, 2008.

1. sorefingers

sorefingers

well im new to playing bass. so far i know most of the scales and can play songs, slap, chords and all that good stuff. So hello talk bass people, lol. but anyways i wanted to say, DO NOT BUY SWR AMPS! or well at least the LA series, i have one and it sucks. if you turn it up past the 3\4 mark it buzzes like CRAZY. but yah, so drop some comments if you have one, and what you think about it. also i went to my first jam today and played like 3 hours of bluegrass with my mom's banjo, best friend od drums, and himmom on piano. it was the best. :hyper: whoo.
  2. SuperSnake2012

SuperSnake2012 floppy b strings

I have one and it's my practice amp. Works fine for home practice and jamming with a guitarist or two. I don't think it's meant to be used as anything else. Not many amps will sound good if you turn the volume up 3/4 of the way :eek: For a jam with a drummer, you'd want an amp with a bigger speaker or a lot more watts.
  3. sorefingers

sorefingers

yah when i started playing with my drummer friend i was like "wow he plays louder than i thought" lol.
  4. Kennethfaria

Kennethfaria

well to be noticeably louder youll need somethign with double the watts. or you can double the speaker area( by adding another 12)

Yeah i heard the La series ain't that great But WorkingPros are solid. Well time to sleep.