1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Tactile markers for left thumb?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Jack Clark, Dec 21, 2012.

1. Jack Clark

Jack Clark

I don't mean this as something for you pros, of course, but has anybody tried putting some sort of tactile markings on the underside of the neck for beginning students?

I'm just an amateur and I don't practice four hours a day, so drifting away from correct fingering on the neck of my fretless upright has always been an intonation problem for me. Seems to me that tactile markers for the left thumb might be more legitimate than visual marks on the side of the neck for the fingers. The idea, of course, is just to provide a more consistent base for the "claw," not to dictate where each finger should go down. The tactile thumb markers I've tried are light and do not inhibit the thumb from smoothly sliding up and down the neck.

Anybody heard of anyone trying this sort of thing?
  2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

My understanding was that a couple of Red's basses had a brass "dot" placed in a couple of positions on the back of the neck, this is after he made the switch to fifths tuning. Unka PeeDub might know if that's true or spurious....
  3. TonyD

TonyD

Comprehensive Bass method vol. I by Hein van de Geyn (p.58):

Red Mitchell did put some tiny copper round-headed nails in the back of the neck of his bass. Little points of reference. I thought this was in fact a great an very elegant idea.