1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a FREE Account to post and unlock tons of features!

Tale of two Roadstars (twin Ibanez RB850 8-String Beauties)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by L. L. Elwood, Mar 25, 2014.

1. L. L. Elwood

L. L. Elwood Supporting Member

Jan 22, 2004
    Colorado
    I wanted to find a really cool 12 string bass...there just isn't one out there with an aesthetic that I like within my price range.. So I decided to "make" one. I use the term make loosely. Basically Make = Convert.

Though I'm not a professional luthier, i've spent the last 20 years working on, setting up, adjusting and customizing my own basses. I've collected some decent tools and such.. So I decided to "make" a 12 string.. For some reason, I had it in my mind that starting with an 8 string conversion might be the best idea, then work up to a 12! The hunt for the right "bones" began.

Goals:
    • Decent to good quality
    • Affordable
    • Cool design
    • headstock that would accommodate octave tuners without having to fill holes etc...
    • Neck through or multi-ply neck for stability.

Settled on the 1984/85 Ibanez RB850. Totally interesting cool basses that are REALLY affordable.

Before:

[​IMG]

Decent shape, some weird cracking in the finish, but functionally fine..

After:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Mission accomplished!

• Cost: Cheaper than the least expensive Decent to Good prebuilt 8 string.
    • Appearance: Stunning!
    • Sound: Massive!
    • Time investment: 12 Hours
    Uniqueness: Very, Possibly the only RB850 8 string on the planet!

Until....

Being really happy and proud of my conversion.. I posted some photos on the 8 string club thread here and was quickly contacted by another TB'er asking if I wanted to sell..."No, but..."

Here's what happened next... Twin Roadstars...

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]