1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

TB Bakers?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by champbassist, Dec 31, 2012.

1. champbassist

champbassist

Taking my first few baby steps at home in experimental baking, I was wondering if there are any bakers around on TB, or rather how many bakers there are on TB, given that members have are in all sorts of professions.

Regardless of whether you are pros or hobbyists, I'd love to know what your favorites or specialties are :D

2. tplyons

tplyons

I only bake cornbread to go with chili and cookies from store bought dough.

3. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

Cooking is an art. Baking is a science.

I'm a pretty good cook, but I don't follow instructions very well. I do want to figure out how to do flat bread on my kamado grill though.

4. fjadams

fjadams

I can cook, in my family you started to cook when you could reach over the stove. Help on the family pasta Sunday, push the chair to the stove to help cook, etc.

But I can barely bake Jiffy biscuits or cornbread and I've made one pie and no cakes in my life.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. tplyons

tplyons

Quoted for truth. I've never thought about it this way, but I guess it's true.

I can always make something taste good as I cook. But baking isn't forgiving in the slightest.

7. Ziltoid

Ziltoid Supporting Member

I can cook decently. I don't know a lot of recipes yet because I'm still fairly new to this. But I can't bake for jacksquat, never even tried.

8. giacomini

giacomini Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Copetti Guitars
    +1 (plusoning Phalex on the 1st? Must be a bad omen :D )

Yeah, cooking is easy. Baking is something I just can't put my finger on...