1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

TB noob, well bass noob really

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by mikefromchurch, Jan 23, 2014.

1. mikefromchurch

mikefromchurch

Hi all, just wanted to introduce myself. A quick bio:
    I started playing guitar about 18 years ago, self taught mostly. Can barely read music, but really want to study it more. A few years ago my wife and I started attending a wonderful church in Lathrop, CA. There was a need for a drummer, and since I can count to 4 I stepped up. After a month or so I told them I was really more of a guitarist, and got to sub in for second once a month. That's when the Bass bomb was dropped in my lap with nothing left to the fuse! Our bassist was having surgery and would be out for 3 months. I was given a 1980's beater p-bass copy and a week to learn 5 songs playing single whole notes in 4/4 . Not too hard. After a few weeks I figured I could run scales a bit. Now we have a second church where the old bassist plays, so I have been on Bass full time for 1 year.

I had acquired a carruther's sub-1 which had sat in the back of my closet collecting dust. So I got a cheap $100 bow and started teaching myself arco(I know I know) for some of the slower songs we do. I also have on loan a sound gear 4 string BG with emg's and a Gallen-Kruger amp pushing 4 10's. This I plan to purchase as soon as I am not poor which will be never. I found I like bass more than guitar(unless I'm playing alone). Its much more subtle, like the hint of spice on a cheese pizza. You miss it if it's gone, but never notice it's there.

Well so much for my SHORT intro. Anyways, I've lurked a bit, you got some good folks here, thought it time I joined y'all!

:bassist:

2. MetroBass

MetroBass Supporting Member

Disclosures: