tc new looper pedal (polytune mini size)

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by willbassyeah, Jan 9, 2013.


  1. willbassyeah

    willbassyeah

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
  2. kenstee

    kenstee Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
  3. DieterVDW

    DieterVDW

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Gent, Belgium
    Seems cool!
    It has an undo feature, which is a must for me!

    I bought the Boss RC-20XL 2nd hand and it was the best buy I ever did.
    Excellent practice tool: record some chords, then start practicing soloing over those chords (jazz guitar).

    Some features the RC-20 has and that you might want to consider too:
    - Autostart when sound is heard (never use it)
    - Tempo adjust of recorded loop with pitch intact (handy sometimes, but no must)
    - Built-in basic drum machine / metronome -> very handy for practising timing on bass!
    - RC20 can save loops. Is nice.
    - The RC-20 has two pedals, which allows you to stop the loop and restart it at will. I can't imagine this will be possible with the TC, but although I haven't really used this (not using this live) I can imagine it can be quite handy when performing to stop the loop and then resume it later in the song.
    - RC20 has some effects you can apply on tracks, but never use those.

    All in all this seems like a great basic looper with undo!
    Wonder for how much this will sell!

    Edit: The Boss RC-3 essentially does everything I want, including undo and stop/start with 3 hours of memory and USB-interface. Sells for 200€ (that's probably around 200GBP too).
    You might want to consider saving for the more advanced Boss (main features: saving loops + 3 hours of memory), but if this thing sells for 105 GBP as mentioned on that page, this is a great deal!
  4. Ron Now

    Ron Now

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fuzzrocious Pedals
    OK, I want one...
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bryan R. Tyler

    Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Media:
    1
    Location:
    Connecticut
    behndy's having a geargasm somewhere right now :D
  7. mattiastomas

    mattiastomas

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    That looks really cool. Beats getting a TC flashback if you're not gonna use the delay part of it. Hope it won't be too pricey though.
  8. Bryan R. Tyler

    Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Media:
    1
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Too pricey? Did you watch the video? You can't afford not to check it out ;)
  9. DiscoFreq

    DiscoFreq

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Location:
    Belgium
    I added some prices I found on a few shop pages to my page: £105, €129
  10. iovar

    iovar

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Location:
    Chania, Crete
    Nice, but at that money you can probably get a Jamman Solo at ebay.
    Also, lol at the video:
    "We've taken away all the unecessary features... drum machines , Sd card slots,..."
    And keeps on going about how they removed , stripped , etc.

    Yeah ,they first built a super pedal and then strip it down?
    Or did they remove features, the same way fiat "removed" airbags, air conditioning, 3000 cc of engine and 500 hp from my seicento?
  11. NoxNoctus

    NoxNoctus The Crushinator Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    I was interested but at $170-200...eeeeh notsomuch.
  12. willbassyeah

    willbassyeah

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    170 really? I was thinking of building a dual looper set up... I was already eyeing the jamman because of the ability to sync both pedals despite of its location. But having that small size might benefit me actually. Hmmm...
  13. chumbo73

    chumbo73

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    170?? No doubt I would go for the RC-3 or the Flashback and get tons of delays and effects. To all the pros that DIETER has listed, I would add that you can record your jams or spontaneous riffs save them.

    I would pay ~70USD max for this one.
  14. Jared Lash

    Jared Lash Casting out the nines Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    Tore from TC said it would be available in the U.S. in late March and the price will be $129.99 MAP.

    Graphic outlining the functions:
    [​IMG]

    And full info on the TC site:
    http://www.tcelectronic.com/ditto-looper/

    I fully understand people who want all the additional features of the Boss, but this is much closer to what I want. Personally I'd rather have two foot switches for greater usability, but obviously TC was going for a minimal footprint.

    I'm thinking I'll pick one of these up.
  15. SirMjac28

    SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    The Great Midwest
    I like that $129.99 price much better.
  16. Roscoe East

    Roscoe East

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Crap. I did not need to see that!
  17. chumbo73

    chumbo73

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    I guess you are paying for the size, it seems a good pedal but way overpriced.
  18. BassManPatsFan

    BassManPatsFan Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    S.F. now, Boston originally
    So is this in essence the looper that's built into the flashback?
  19. Jared Lash

    Jared Lash Casting out the nines Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    Seems like it, but with some additions:

    • The max loop time is 5 minutes rather than 40 seconds (with unlimited overdubs with either)
    • It adds the Undo/Redo functionality
    • You can stop and then restart your loops.

    Tore was talking up the recording quality but I don't know if it's an upgrade from the Flashback or not.
  20. Bryan R. Tyler

    Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Media:
    1
    Location:
    Connecticut
    5 minutes is waaaay more than anyone should need for a single loop- who's going to want to sit around for a song that's at minimum 10 minutes?

    I've got a Flashback around here and the audio quality is fine, FWIW.
  21. Jared Lash

    Jared Lash Casting out the nines Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    Yeah, 40 seconds is honestly longer than I think I'd ever need.

    For me it's more about the Undo/Redo. That and having a dedicated looper rather than a pair of Flashbacks with one always set to looper.

    In fact I'll probably opt for a tap tempo delay and this looper to replace my Flashback if I don't hold onto the X4 I currently have.

Share This Page